Intro To Design – Mind Map

photo

This is my mind map I decided to put structure in the middle with 5 main parts around which are materials, location, size, inspiration and concepts. For each one I labeled different ideas and made some concepts out of some of the ideas I had picked. I also did some small sketches of some shapes which I looked at using metal or plastic if they were to be made and paper and card for the moquette. I thought that this would give me some good ideas and start to help me generate concepts and sketches, After doing the mind map I sketched out some ideas which I think I may be using for the project.

Screen Shot 2014-09-15 at 14.50.48

To start my research I typed structure in to google and found out that not everything that came up was made of materials like metal and plastic, in fact it showed that even cells and DNA is structure which showed me how many different things can be done rather than buildings ect. I found some images I liked on this page which showed buildings and sculptures which looked like spiralled DNA. I would like to try drawing some different structure from a range of ideas, also I would research the materials needed to make the structures.

Screen Shot 2014-09-15 at 14.51.13

After finding out some information on structures and images I then decides to search sculptures because they come up with more creative designs which look hand made and not are always perfect machine cut objects. I noticed that a lot of them looked like metal which had been melted in to shape and they were usually people or animals showing different emotions. What I like about some of these sculptures is that they are all different and really creative, also they make me think they mean more than one thing or is maybe looked at in a different way from different people. The size of the sculptures of people are usually life size or bigger they rant usually smaller, I think this is to show more power and to make it stand out.

Screen Shot 2014-09-15 at 14.51.40

I found this design and I like it because it can be made very easily and looks very dramatic. If i was to make this I would put myself inside a sheet and take a good quality photo and change the colours on photoshop I think its really clever and could be used in a location like town where there is a lot of public that can see and it could represent homeless people where you can’t see there face but you know why they are there. I think that if it was to be placed in a town that it should be life size because it will represent a real person, I think that this would create a strong impact on some people walking past because it looks mysterious. The Guardians of Time is the name of this public art it relates to the idea that since the beginning of time mankind has had protectors, both for historic and mystical reasons. It says that only man himself is a potential source of danger for his own existence. this is the art of Manfred Kielnhofer. This image can be found at http://www.lightart-biennale.com/the-chinese-steal-the-photo-and-sell-my-guardians-of-time-sculpture-recommended-modern-metal-art-sculptures-on-alibaba-famous-modern-art-sculpture-sculptor-manfred-kielnhofer/

Screen Shot 2014-09-15 at 14.51.57

 I searched sculptures to find this, I like this one because its a continues spiral which also looks like DNA and shows a great structure, It is also amazing how it stand up being a round shape, I think this was the best idea to make it out of wood because it looks really real and if it was to be made bigger I think it should be made out of good thick wood and placed out side a museum or park because it it could be relevant for a medical museum or just a frame for a park. I think the size of this should be really big around the size of a house because it looks really creative and it would be good to walk through.The website is an art, geometric and abstract sculpture site which shows lots of different man made creative shapes. This image can be found at http://www.cs.berkeley.edu/~sequin/ART/

Screen Shot 2014-09-15 at 14.52.08

I also found these match sticks all stuck together which made me think about weather I could create a structure using objects which are already invented I think when they are stuck together they make a really good steady structure which would be easy to brake so that would make a good start then when made in to a real structure to the public they could use large pieces of wood with red tips so they look like match sticks on a larger scale. What you also like about using match sticks is that they can be used to make just about anything.This is made by two brothers who make sculptures out of thousands of match sticks called Ryan and Trevor Oakes born in Colorado and now work in New York. This is where i found the image http://www.ignant.de/2013/09/23/matchstick-sculptures/

Screen Shot 2014-09-16 at 10.16.12

This is a public artist I found called Andy Scott he creates mostly horses and people out of metal and different materials, He makes these massive so they can be seen from really far away. I think they look powerful because they all look like they show  emotion.

Screen Shot 2014-09-16 at 10.17.11 Screen Shot 2014-09-16 at 10.17.21 Screen Shot 2014-09-16 at 10.17.26 Screen Shot 2014-09-16 at 10.17.34

These are just a few of the sculptures that he makes as you can see the man holding something above his head looks proud and loyal, The horses have lights under at night so they can be seen which makes an even better effect.

Leave a Reply

